Get Down Syndrome Represented on the Cover of Runner’s World

Lara Font Disney MarathonThe amazing Lara Font, a LuMind RDS Board member, is in the running to be a featured on the cover of Runner’s World. The contest is looking to showcase inspiration, passion and athleticism and this mom of four checks all the boxes. Lara began running competitively after her fourth child Parker was born. Parker has Down syndrome and Lara was inspired to join LuMind RDS Runner’s and fundraise so researchers could seek ways to improve cognition in people with Down syndrome.

Vote for Lara and get DS Represented! You can vote twice each day – right now Lara isn’t in the Top 20 – can the Down syndrome community get her 5000 votes in two days? Yes, we can – let’s go!

On Why She Runs: “Every runner has a story..it’s what I love about runners..learning what motivates them to run. I grew up as a competitive athlete, so I stay active. My inspiration is my 4th child, Parker. I run to raise funds for cognitive research for Down syndrome. After Parker was born, I needed an outlet, a place to process on things, relieve stress, and most importantly stay healthy. In the last 2 years, I’ve run over 24 half marathons, countless 5K, 10K’s and last year ran my first full marathon! More importantly we’ve raised over 55K for research!”

Her Most Significant Running Accomplishments: “I ran my first Marathon – Bank of America Chicago Marathon in 2014 and I Boston qualified! Looking forward to 2016 for Boston! We love Disney and run most of the Run Disney races. In May I received my first Disney Masters win for the 10K. But, I’m most proud of Parker’s first 1K race in March on World Down Syndrome Day – our entire family ran! Seeing Parker cross the finish hands raised high and his smiling face was priceless! It is good to be a Masters runner – I’ve had a quite a few placements and wins this year!”

How Running Changed Her Life and the Lives of Others: “Running reminds me how hard Parker works to accomplish things we all take for granted. He had open heart surgery 5 years ago and endures countless hours of therapy a week. He doesn’t ever give up. Running has inspired our other kids to get involved in charitable causes and help raise awareness for the need for cognitive research for Down syndrome. Running has allowed me to connect with families all over the US and bring awareness to the continued need for cognitive research for those living with Down syndrome. Running to fundraise brings necessary funds to research.”

But why does she really run? Meet Parker:

2 thoughts on “Get Down Syndrome Represented on the Cover of Runner’s World

  1. Guida Drew

    Yes, I support you wholeheartedly.
    My 8 yr old grandson has Down’s.
    My daughter-in-law runs for research too.
    She did her first big marathon this yr & is always running she looks fantastic. My son & 11 yr old granddaughter run sometimes.
    Thanks, Guida
    Debbie Drew is my daughter in law

    Reply

Leave a Reply

